OPEN DAYS 2022

Monday, 21 February 2022 12:17

There will be more Public Open Days at Monteath Mausoleum in 2022. On these days visitors can drive up to the mausoleum car park, which will be open for vehicles from 10am until 4pm. Click this link for directions by car. 

A Visitor Guide will be on site to show visitors around the building (including inside the crypt) and answer any questions they may have about the mausoleum and it’s strange history. Booking is not required and entry is free, though we welcome donations to help maintain the building.

Access to the mausoleum is by a flat wide path from the car park, with hard surfacing suitable for mobility vehicles. Visitors with specific requirements should contact us by email first, and we will do our best to help.

There are picnic tables and lawns at the mausoleum, so if the weather is fine, visitors are welcome to picnic in the grounds and enjoy the grand views of the Scottish Borders.


OPEN DAYS 2022


Sunday 17th April & Monday 18th April (Easter)

Sunday 1st May & Monday 2nd May (Bank Holiday)

Saturday 4th June & Sunday 5th June (Queen’s Platinum Jubilee)

Saturday 2nd July & Sunday 3rd July

Sunday 31st July & Monday 1st August (Bank Holiday) 

Sunday 28th August & Monday 29th August(Bank Holiday) 

Saturday 24th September & Sunday 25th September 


At all other times the site is open for walkers, cyclists and horse riders to enjoy. A key to the crypt is available from Ancrum Pantry in Ancrum village (01835 830259), Lilliardsedge Holiday Park (just below the mausoleum on the A68) or  the Lothian Estate Office, Bonjedward, Jedburgh, TD8 6UF (office hours). There is a small fee and returnable deposit.


The site is also available for group visits, commercial and corporate use by arrangement. Please contact us by email for details.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NEWS